KAFM Music Blog

KAFM Music Blog

The New Basement Tapes -

November 18, 2014
If you haven't heard of the New Basement Tapes, you're in for a treat.  Here's "Kansas City," off the latest album, Lost on the River, out on Electromagnetic/Harvest Records:

The supergroup created by T Bone Burnett consists of Jim James (My Morning Jacket), Elvis Costello, Taylor Goldsmith (Dawes), Rhiannon Giddens (Carolina Chocolate Drops), and Marcus Mumford (Mumford & Sons). Burnett got his hands on some Bob Dylan lyrics from The Basement Tape sessions, and set to work to record them with some of the best musicians today. The video is from the forthcoming documentary appearing on Showtime November 21st.

Quick read more or view full article /> Keep it tuned to KAFM to hear more from the New Basement Tapes, and each artist involved! Read Less
No Comments   |   Add a Comment >>

Support KAFM

KAFM is community radio and exists based on the support of listeners like you! Please help keep KAFM on the air by making a contribution or becoming a Monument Member!

Upcoming Events

KAFM CAB Meeting

Jan 18 @ 5:30PM

View More >>

Boat Songs with Bonnie Montgomery

Jan 21 @ 7:30PM
January 21st and 22nd $15 adults, $12 seniors, $6 youth A new theatrical realization of Bonnie's…

View More >>

KAFM Board Meeting

Jan 26 @ 5:30PM

View More >>

Bill Aikens, oboe and Brian Krinke, piano

Feb 11 @ 7:30PM
$12 Adults, $10 Seniors, $5 Youth

View More >>

Valentine's Faculty Gala

Feb 14 @ 7:30PM
$12 Adults, $10 Seniors, $5 Youth

View More >>

KAFM New DJ Orientation

Feb 15 @ 5:30PM

View More >>

Community Resources

In an effort to support our community's public health and the well-being of our local business community, we will be adding updates and resources regrading COVID-19. Please check our Community Resources page for full details.

On Air: -
Up Next: -